I do not know what it is about it, but I REALLY don't like this hiring. My prediction was Jim Caldwell for a few reasons. 1. He has been to a super bowl as head coach of the Colts, 2. He coached the 2012 Ravens to the Lombardi, and 3. He was a quarterbacks coach who could have helped RG3 get back to 2012 form and develop Kirk Cousins until his trade value climaxes. But Snyder chose Gruden. The man has been very successful, multiple championships...in the Arena League. From what he has shown in the NFL, his quarterbacks have been inconsistent and have been bailed out by the teams' stellar defenses. I am looking at you, Andy Dalton (and Brad Johnson). And to make matters worse, he isn't even the best coach in the family. Gruden is destined to fail as head coach due to the lack of cap space and lack of a first round pick. Brian Orakpo, Santana Moss, DeAngelo Williams and Fred Davis are all UFA's this upcoming off season, not to mention that their defensive leader, London Fletcher, may retire. All in all, this hire makes little to no sense for me except for his connection with Jim Haslett, the defensive coordinator, who I believed should be fired.

Grade: D (64%)




Leave a Reply.